OUR HISTORY

The Jäderberg & Cie.-Group was founded in 2010 to specifically manage the JC Sandalwood project. Meanwhile, we have become an entrepreneurial, catalytic impact investor with a growing portfolio. Our HQ is based in the harbor of beautiful Hamburg, Germany.

 

OUR INVESTMENT STRATEGY

Our investment portfolio consists purely of unique projects with disruptive or transformative impact, massive sustainability, and extraordinary long-term profitability.

We only engage with projects to which we can add substantial value, be it in an operationally responsible role, or simply as an active lead investor. As Impact Guardian, we support the project to identify, communicate, and measure the sustainability impact. We ensure value and mission alignment both with the project staff and the shareholders. Furthermore, we attract like-minded co-investors, structuring and hosting the co-investment vehicles.

 

OUR INVESTMENT PORTFOLIO

Areas of investment – besides our flagship project „JC Sandalwood“ – are Regenerative Agriculture/Forestry (with a focus on medicinal plants), Food Distribution, Ocean Health and Circular Economy.

 

OUR IMPACT NETWORK & TOPICS

We are an engaged member of international impact organizations and networks like Toniic, Bundesinitiative Impact Investing, TTI, Global Impact Alliance and active in several working groups.

One overlapping topic we are  pursuing is to create and integrate Carbon, Biodiversity, and Social credits in f Haone single token.

Not least, we are proud to be a sponsor Hamburg’s iconic Elbphilharmonie – and happy to host our partners at a concert.

JC SANDALWOOD

In 2009, Quintis opened up their monopolistic project to a handful of international institutions, such as the Abu Dhabi sovereign wealth fund, the Harvard University endowment fund, and the Church of England. We were the first to sign an investment agreement, and the only one among this exclusive circle of investors offering the opportunity of co-investment to other interested parties. Currently, we own a total of 575 hectares with more than 270.000 sandalwood trees, spread over 4 sites in the north of Australia. Today, 37% of these sandalwood forests belong to Jäderberg & Cie., 63% to our 1,500 co-investors – both individual as well as institutional investors. Thus, we ensure an alignment of interest between us and our co-investors in the success of this venture.The ownership of the forests is with unitized tree trusts, making an illiquid asset fully tradeable in small quantities (single-digit dollars per unit). The JC Sandalwood structure also allows avoidance of double-taxation.

 

OUR APPROACH FOR THIS PRIVILIGED CLUB DEAL

There is no management fee, nor initial costs such as structuring costs or commission.
Ongoing management and investment services will be provided by JC as contributions into the SPV during its term. General running expenses until harvest are financed out of the liquidity reserve or the unit holdings.

 

OUR MANAGEMENT PARTNER IN AUSTRALIA

The experienced managers and staff of DFK Gooding Partners are entrusted with the accounting and administrative matters of the Australian JC Sandalwood companies, as well as the management of the unit tree trust registry. In the past and hopefully soon again, we hosted guided tours with our investors to meet Quintis and Gooding Partners, and, of course, to visit our forest sites, the nursery, the distillery and much more.

UNSERE GESCHICHTE

Die Jäderberg & Cie.-Gruppe wurde 2010 gegründet, um speziell das JC Sandalwood-Projekt zu verwalten. Inzwischen haben wir uns zu einem unternehmerischen Impact Investor mit einem wachsenden Portfolio entwickelt. Unser Hauptsitz befindet sich im Hafen von Hamburg, Deutschland.

 

INVESTMENT-STRATEGIE

Unser Investitionsportfolio besteht ausschließlich aus einzigartigen Projekten mit bahnbrechenden oder transformativen Auswirkungen, massiver Nachhaltigkeit und außerordentlicher langfristiger Rentabilität.

Wir engagieren uns nur bei Projekten, bei denen wir einen erheblichen Mehrwert schaffen können, sei es in einer operativ verantwortlichen Rolle oder einfach als aktiver Hauptinvestor. Als Impact Guardian unterstützen wir das Projekt bei der Ermittlung, Kommunikation und Messung der Nachhaltigkeitsauswirkungen. Wir stellen sicher, dass die Werte und Ziele sowohl mit den Projektmitarbeitern als auch mit den Aktionären übereinstimmen. Darüber hinaus gewinnen wir gleichgesinnte Co-Investoren. 

 

INVESTMENT-PORTFOLIO

Investitionsbereiche – neben unserem Flaggschiffprojekt „JC Sandalwood“ – sind Regenerative Landwirtschaft/Forstwirtschaft (mit Schwerpunkt auf Heilpflanzen), Lebensmittelvertrieb, Ocean Health und Kreislaufwirtschaft.

 

IMPACT-NETZWERK & THEMEN

Wir sind engagiertes Mitglied in internationalen Impact-Organisationen und Netzwerken wie Toniic, Bundesinitiative Impact Investing, TTI, Global Impact Alliance und aktiv in mehreren Arbeitsgruppen.

Ein übergreifendes Thema, das wir verfolgen, ist die Schaffung und Integration von Carbon, Biodiversity und Social Credits in einem einzigen Token.

Nicht zuletzt sind wir stolz darauf, Sponsor der kultigen Hamburger Elbphilharmonie zu sein – und freuen uns, unsere Partner zu einem Konzert einzuladen.

JC SANDALWOOD

Im Jahr 2009 öffnete Quintis sein Monopolprojekt für eine Handvoll internationaler Institutionen wie den Staatsfonds von Abu Dhabi, den Stiftungsfonds der Harvard University und die Church of England. Wir waren die ersten, die eine Investitionsvereinbarung unterzeichneten, und die einzigen in diesem exklusiven Kreis von Investoren, die anderen Interessenten die Möglichkeit eines Co-Investments boten. Derzeit besitzen wir insgesamt 575 Hektar mit mehr als 270.000 Sandelholzbäumen, verteilt auf 4 Standorte im Norden Australiens. Heute gehören 37% dieser Sandelholzwälder Jäderberg & Cie. und 63% unseren 1.500 Co-Investoren – sowohl individuellen als auch institutionellen Investoren. Das Eigentum an den Wäldern liegt bei Unitized Tree Trusts, die einen illiquiden Vermögenswert in kleinen Mengen (einstelliger Dollarbetrag pro Einheit) voll handelbar machen. Die Struktur von JC Sandalwood ermöglicht auch die Vermeidung der Doppelbesteuerung.

 

ANSATZ FÜR DIESEN PRIVILIGIERTEN CLUB-DEAL

Es gibt weder eine Verwaltungsgebühr noch anfängliche Kosten wie Strukturierungskosten oder Provisionen.
Die laufenden Management- und Investmentdienstleistungen werden von JC in Form von Einlagen in die Zweckgesellschaft während ihrer Laufzeit erbracht. Die allgemeinen laufenden Kosten bis zur Ernte werden aus der Liquiditätsreserve oder dem Anteilsbestand finanziert.

 

MANAGEMENT-PARTNER IN AUSTRALIEN

Die erfahrenen Manager und Mitarbeiter von DFK Gooding Partners sind mit der Buchhaltung und den Verwaltungsaufgaben der australischen JC Sandalwood-Unternehmen sowie mit der Verwaltung des Registers des Unit Tree Trusts betraut. In der Vergangenheit und hoffentlich auch bald wieder, haben wir  Investorenreisen nach Australien veranstaltet, um Quintis und Gooding Partners kennenzulernen und natürlich unsere Sandelholzwälder, die Baumschule, die Destillerie und vieles mehr zu besichtigen.